Funkier Sounds 24th November 2023

logo

Well hi, you came back! Big thanks, and happy Thanksgiving to our US friends.

This week...

  • I’d really appreciate your vote!

  • A new one from me on Discoholics Anonymous

  • Funkier Sounds with GMGN

  • A big free Bill Withers remix from Jet Boot Jack

  • Gem of the Week

I’d really appreciate your vote!

mixmaster

I’ve found myself in this DJ competition, and I’m doing alright. So far I’ve done a couple of livestreamed minimixes where I’ve done my best to cram in as much action as possible, and I’ve now got a serious shot at making it to the live semi final in a couple of weeks. I’ve done my quarter final mix which you can watch here (I’m about an hour in), it went alright, the judges seemed to really like it, and it’s important to get as many public votes as possible to ensure I make it through. Public voting is open until 7pm UK time TODAY! It costs £1 to vote, but my promise of buying you a pint if I see you still stands. If you’ve ever enjoyed my mixes, free edits or general banter please consider voting - I’d be immensely grateful! 🙏

divider

A new one from me on Discoholics Anonymous

shiny love life

I’m dead excited to have a brand new tune out on one of my fave labels, Discoholics Anonymous. I’ll let you into a little secret - I’ve always had a bit of a soft spot for the music of Electric Light Orchestra, and for this one I’ve pumped up a version of one of their finest gems, Shine a Little Love. My version clocks in at a hefty 133 BPM which is way above what we normally see on Discoholics Anonymous, so big thanks to my main man Discoholic Ken for taking a chance on this one. It’s out on Traxsource now!

divider

Funkier Sounds with GMGN

fs121

My latest radio show started at a quick old tempo to include the very track I was just talking about above along with the Mariah Carey edit I gave away last issue, then I took things down, then up, then down again - for that is the Funkier sounds way. All sorts of genres covered too… for that is the Funkeir Sounds way!

Anyway, hour 2 was a lovely treat - I welcomed Ben Adams AKA GMGN (Good Morning, Good Night). UK born but based out in Boston these days, I’ve been a fan of Ben’s mixes and productions for a while now. He was the guest when I stood in for Pete Ellison’s Friday lunchtime show a while back and his mix was a proper journey, and that’s what prompted me to ask him to be on my show. Well, he’s delivered another fantastic journey, starting things off slow and slinky, moving through the funky gears, even sneaking in one of mine along the way. 

divider

A big free Bill Withers remix from Jet Boot Jack

lovely day

This issue’s freebie comes thanks to my friend Jet Boot Jack, who is a bit of a master at beefing up tracks and has a phenomenal output rate of quality releases. This one’s a dancefloor-friendly take on the Bill Withers classic Lovely day, and it’s lovely! You can grab it via the link below…

divider

Gem of the Week

This fortnight’s gem is an absolute funk banger - Simple Song by Zebra, from 1974. Those funky horns rip in straight away, we’ve got some jangly guitars, jazzy drumming and a wonderful vocal, but those horns are the star of the show here. This one oozes cool vibes all over.

All my love, until we meet again,

Tom xx