Funkier Sounds 22nd December 2023

logo

Ho ho ho, feeling festive yet?

This week...

  • A Christmas present from me to you

  • Discoholics Anonymous 4

  • Funkier Sounds with Fray Bentos

  • Gem of the Week

A Christmas present from me to you

I’ve somehow succeeded in my aim to bring you a fresh free edit from myself every month this year, topping it off two weeks ago with my Lionel edit that seems to have gone down pretty nicely. I’ve collected all of this year’s freebies in one handy folder in case you missed any of them - my gift to you. I’ll be aiming to do the same next year, so stay tuned for lots of weird and wonderful Funkier edits throughout 2024!

divider

Discoholics Anonymous 4

The gifts don’t end there either - because Discoholics Anonymous dropped their annual free compilation recently too! This time there are 16 hot tracks from some of the best producers in the game… and me! My track takes a little Gwen McCrae sample and turns it into something epic, and other highlights of the compilation include Bodie Lee’s immaculate version of Boogie Wonderland and C Da Afro’s dazzling disco contribution. You can get the whole thing completely free on the Discoholics Anonymous Bandcamp, so what are you waiting for?

divider

Funkier Sounds with Fray Bentos

A few tracks from the Discoholics Anonymous compilation made it onto my latest radio show too, along with some tracks from the late, great Amp Fiddler, who we sadly lost recently. His tracks have been regulars in my shows and mixes, and I played three of his funkiest in this episode as a little tribute. RIP, you funky soul. In hour 2 I handed over to Fray Bentos, a DJ and producer who I’ve been following for a while. He’s released on loads of labels that I’ve been on like Hot Gorilla, Discoholics Anonymous and Hot Digits, and always brings the funky vibes. He’s proved that in style here with an excellent mix - starting slow and moving through the gears very nicely. It’s mostly classic funk vibes, but with a bit of a disco-tastic finish. I bloody loved it!

divider

Gem of the Week

Another big-basslined beast this time, Work That Sucker to Death by Xavier, which came out in ‘81. This one’s got wibbly bass, make and female vocals, weird chiptune sounding trills and… oooh is that Boosty I hear? This one’s a bit of a weird one and there’s a lot going on, but I’m here for it.

Big seasons greetings, have a funky one and I’ll see you in 2024 ❤️

Tom xx