Funkier Sounds 19th January 2024

logo

Welcome along to another issue of Funkier Sounds, good to see you.

This week...

  • Feel good this Friday with Feel Good Friday, recorded last Friday!

  • Funkier Sounds with Rose Corps

  • Some free stuff

  • Gem of the Week

Feel good this Friday with Feel Good Friday, recorded last Friday!

fgf

Last Friday I had the immense pleasure of hosting one of my favourite weekly shows, Pete Ellison's Feel Good Friday. Neither Pete nor his co-host Greg Middleton were available, so they asked me to step in instead. I did my best to fulfil the brief of feel good tunes suitable for a Friday lunchtime, and had a lovely time doing so. And in the second hour we were treated to a fantastic guest mix from a DJ and producer who I very much admire, DJ Laurel. You can listen back below, and don't forget to tune into the show live, every Friday at midday UK time on NDC Radio.

divider

Funkier Sounds with Rose Corps

fs125

Show two of 2024 felt like a good one. My selection was mainly oldish stuff, taking in vintage funk and disco, filthy basement club vibes, garage, hip hop, house, a little balearic tangent and a couple of new bits from myself. In hour two it was my great pleasure to welcome Rose Corps on to the show. Rose’s mix is wonderfully eclectic, which is exactly what I try to make my show - so her mix fitted in beautifully. It’s one of those lovely mixes where you never know what’s around the corner, every track’s a surprise. Less worrying about genre… more vibe!

divider

Some free stuff…

thelma

This time I’m pleased to bring you an excellent edit of a Thelma Houston track by one of the best in the game, mikeandtess. As usual this version is immaculate - beefing things up just enough without losing the feel or groove of the original. Highly recommended that you click below, grab this, then check out some of his other stuff - there’s loads and it’s all goooood.

divider

Gem of the Week

Some more disco magic this week - You Made Me Do It Again by Elaine & Ellen, from 1980. It oozes the vibes of the late heyday of disco, but without any of the excess, just clean, lush instrumentation and beautiful vocals. It’s uplifting, very funky, and guaranteed to put a smile on my face every time.

Right, we’re done here. Take care and speak soon!

Tom xx