Funkier Fridays 9th December 2022

logo

Welcome to my little round up of goings on in my funky little world. Hope the goings on in your funky world are good ones!

This week...

  • My free track on theBasement Discos

  • More music from me on Yacht Disco Edits 6 (Too Slow To Disco)

  • Funkier Radio Episode 96, featuring an actual member of Jamiroquai

  • I've been nominated for some OGV Awards!

  • Gem of the Week

divider

My free Track on theBasement Discos

theBasement

This one's actually been out for a little while now, but to keep the fortnightly freebies flowing in this newsletter I'm telling you about it now - my track on the recent edits EP from theBasement Discos. I'm dead excited about making an appearance on one of my favourite labels with another one of my reworks of an old hidden gem, and you can name your price on the link below... even if that price is £0/ $0/ €0!

It would be rude not to remind you of my latest free, festive edit on my SoundCloud too - my mangled version of Christmas Wrapping by The Waitresses...

divider

Yacht Disco Edits 6 (Too Slow To Disco)

YDE6

It brings me great joy to be part of one of the smoothest compilations of the year - Too Slow To Disco's Yacht Disco Edits 6. My track is a low slung rework of Michael Wycoff's 1982 tune Still Got The Magic, and it features alongside 32 other tracks from some of the leading names on the scene alongside a clutch of talented newcomers. The standard is very high on this one, and you can grab the whole comp from Bandcamp for a bargain price...

divider

Funkier Radio Episode 96

fr96

I was very excited to welcome an extra special guest on my latest radio show - only the drummer from one of the funkiest (and one of my favourite) bands of all time! As well as his key role in Jamiroquai, Derrick McKenzie is also an excellent DJ who presents his own radio show, and he was kind enough to send me a mix full of funky and soulful grooves for my show. This one's definitely worth a listen

divider

I've been nominated for some OGV awards!

ogv

Only Good Vibes is a record label and interview series based in Scotland, and I featured their brilliant label in this newsletter a little while back. One of the lovely things they've done for the last couple of years is their Awards, and I'm thrilled to have been nominated for TWO - best emerging producer and best radio show! I'm up against some brilliant names on the scene, some of whom I am lucky enough to count as friends, and would hugely appreciate any votes for myself or them!

divider

Gem of the Week

Taking things in a bit less of a disco direction for my latest gem with this lovely slice of funky business from way back in 1974. Bold and brassy with a big dollop of sass, this one puts a smile on my face every time.

OK I'm outta here. Stay warm, stay funky!

Tom xx