Funkier Fridays 7th July 2023

logo

Hey, hope you’re having a top summer so far whatever you’ve been up to.

This week...

  • Time to vote on what I should edit next

  • Funkier Radio with Lenzz

  • Radio Funkier, with even more non-stop funky tunes

  • A couple of new guest mixes

  • Gem of the Week

Time to vote on what I should edit next

The shortlist

Big thanks to everyone who nominated tracks that I should edit next. I got all sorts of weird and wonderful suggestions which I’ve finally whittled down to a mostly quite sensible shortlist of eight, and now it’s time to vote! As some are less well known I’ve made a handy YouTube playlist of all the tracks, so have a flick through then cast your vote below. The one with the most votes will get the Funkier treatment and be released as a free edit!

divider

Funkier Radio with Lenzz

Funkier Radio 111

My latest radio show possibly featured a record number of tracks - 42 to be exact… thanks to my usual quick mixing in the first hour and an excellent guest mix from my friend Lenzz. Lenzz is a DJ from Rotterdam, and is also a lovely guy and a big supporter of my tracks on his own radio show Lenzzie’s Nu-Grooves. So his appearance on my show is long overdue, and he didn’t disappoint - rattling through 22 fine funky tracks including a couple of mine and one of his. Well worth a listen!

divider

Radio Funkier - new shows added to my 24/7 channel

Radio Funkier

I do loads of radio shows, livestreams and guest mixes, and rather than just having them sitting on my Soundcloud page I’ve also got them streaming non stop on Twitch! It’s been running for a while but I’ve finally got around to adding a few more days’ worth of content, so jump on if you’re ever in need of some randomly selected funky vibes. You can set the Twitch app to audio only too, so you don’t have to watch the video looping over and over and over and over and over…

divider

A couple of new guest mixes

Guest Mixes

I’ve got not one but two new guest mixes for you to wrap your lovely ears around. Firstly there was my very enjoyable appearance on The Funkadelic Sessions’ livestream a couple of weekends back, where I really cranked the funk up to 11. And I’ve also recently featured in On The Reg’s brilliant mix series too. This one’s a varied affair, moving through balearic vibes, chunky disco, global beats, deep and dusty house and soulful US garage over the course of 90 minutes.

divider

Gem of the Week

Another early 80s belter for you this week, Face The Music from Trilark. A sticky, growly synth bassline takes over proceedings, bringing loads of attitude. Guitar jangles, horns and a cheeky cowbell tinkle join forces alongside the beautiful vocal to drive this little boogie gem forwards.

Until next time…

Tom xx