Funkier Fridays 30th September 2022

logo

Hey, I hope the funk has been with you over the last couple of weeks. Welcome to the funkiest newsletter out there.

More Free Stuff!

potion

Humungous thanks to everyone who downloaded my Jessie Ware edit a couple of weeks ago, I've been bowled over by the reaction to it. I'm keeping the freebies rolling with another one that's distinctively on the poppier side of things. This time I've twisted Calvin & Dua's funky summer anthem into a loopy disco house stomper. As always it's free, so help yourself! 

The Reflex was on my show...!

the reflex

It's been a busy week for my shows. First up I was hugely excited to welcome possibly my biggest ever guest onto my radio show - true edit and remix royalty, The Reflex! I've been a big fan of his immaculate Revisions of classic tracks for absolutely ages, and I can't believe he was kind enough to mix me up an exclusive hour of these Revisions for the show. Listen back below...

My 100th Livestream

evening funkier

And another one of my shows hit a nice little milestone too - my Twitch livestream turned 100 episodes old! I celebrated the occasion by doing a cheeky quadruple length edition, getting on the decks for a full six hours and recording the whole thing. It was loads of fun and I covered a lot of ground musically with well over 100 tracks across a range of BPMs and genres. You can listen via the Soundcloud link below, or (if it's not blocked in your country) watch the whole thing on YouTube - there's bad/ dad dancing to entertain you!

Borderline - This Saturday

borderline

Not long now until I join my good friends Greg Middleton and Pete Ellison for a night of funky tunes from across the decades, genres and BPMs. I can't wait for this one, and if you happen to be around Surbiton on Saturday 1st October, come on down and say hi!

Label Focus - Peppermint Jam

jam

This week's label has been one of my favourites for ages, but I was actually surprised to learn just how long Peppermint Jam has been on the scene. 27 years and counting ain't half bad for any record label, especially one that keeps the supply of quality new tunes coming. Recent releases have come from some of the best on the scene - C Da Afro, HP Vince, Infrasoul and Mellow Man. Hit the button to browse their substantial and very good back catalogue...

Gem of the Week

Oh my, this week's gem has only fairly recently come into my life, but I'm wondering how it escaped my attention for so long. It actually came into my life via an absolutely stomping edit from Jungle Dee which hasn't left my crate since I found it, and it led me to the original, an immaculate piece of high energy late-era disco from the turn of the 80s. Some lovely strings, absolutely shredding horns, slap bass, magic vocal - the full package. Love love love! 

That's me done for now, really appreciate you reading. If you think anyone you know would enjoy geeking out on funky business like this, please pass this link on to them - https://evenfunkier.beehiiv.com/subscribe

Keep doing your funky thing!

Tom xx