Funkier Fridays 29th September 2023

logo

Hey, funky people. How’s it going?

This week...

  • At last, a new release!

  • Funkier Radio goes hip hop

  • Gigs! #1 - Disco Jukebox this Saturday in Walthamstow

  • Gigs!! #2 - Borderline next Saturday in Surbiton

  • Gem of the Week

At last, a new release!

Shook Up Shook Down

Although I've managed to keep a steady stream of freebies of variable quality, it's fair to say that 2023’s been a bit slower for me on the official release front. So I'm thrilled that I've got a new tune on Traxsource as a preorder. It's coming out on Leon El Ray’s Electric Friends label in a couple of weeks, and is a lush slice of deep house with a breathy vocal, twinkly keys and a sample of a vintage soul classic. Things are picking up in my studio a bit now so I'm hoping this release drought will be over pretty soon - more to come this year.

divider

Funkier Radio goes hip hop

Funkier Radio 117

My latest radio show went down a bit of a hip hop wormhole, thanks to my guest J-Felix. I saw J-Felix DJ earlier this summer at a day festival in Crystal Palace Park and really enjoyed listening to his eclectic, funky selections in the sunshine, so decided to invite him on for a guest mix. It was hip hop from the off and stayed that way for most of it, taking in some jazz funk flavours towards the end. A bit different to many of the guest mixes I’ve had on recently, but all the better for it.

divider

Gigs! #1 - Disco Jukebox this Saturday in Walthamstow

Disco Jukebox

Excited to have two gigs over the next two weekends. The first one is a rare trip to the far reaches of North London to play at the Real Al Taproom in Walthamstow for Niall Martin's Disco Jukebox party. I played at one of his Friday Nights at Village 512 earlier this year and it was brilliant, and I'm really excited to bring my usb full of funk jams and disco bangers on Saturday. I'm doing an extended set 6-9pm, and if you're around there's a link to free tickets right here…

divider

Gigs!! #2 - Borderline next Saturday in Surbiton

Borderline

Then next weekend I'm heading back to my semi-regular haunt Niku in Surbiton for another edition of Borderline, the fantastic night run by my good pal Greg Middleton. This time I'm on warm up duties, handling the first couple of hours before I hand over to edit maestro Pete Maude for a very special guest set. Greg will then see out proceedings as only he can with some peak time Borderline classics. It's always great fun and a super friendly crowd - I'd love to see one or two of you London folk on the dancefloor!

divider

Gem of the Week

We head to the late 70s for the latest gem, Welcome To The Disco by Air Power. It’s got that disco swagger from the outset - sparse percussion, congas, brass… and then those strings lift you right up! Sampled in I can’t remember what, but pure disco gold right here - all ten minutes of it.

Take it easy,

Tom xx