Funkier Fridays 28th October 2022

logo

Hello, hope the last couple of weeks have been damn funky for ya...

It's time for your regular dose of all things Funkier.

Money for nothing!

money

I've been playing around with this one for a while, and it's ready to rock. Always absolutely loved this funky groover from talented pair Misch and Kiwanuka, and I've done a stems workout to make it longer and stronger with some crispy new percussion and a nice dramatic intro. And you guessed it - totally free for you lovely newsletter subscribers! Grab it below, and enjoy.

And there's still time to get my free and very chunky Ghostbusters edit in time for Halloween if you haven't already...

Funkier Radio with Prisma Deer

funkier radio 93

My latest radio show had me mixing up a sultry mix of deep house, spacey chug and disco, then we flip into full blown disco mode for the second hour with a brilliant mix from Costa Rican DJ, producer, radio host and label boss Prisma Deer. Over the course of the show we take in tracks from Metro Area, Opolopo, C Da Afro, Ian Upfold, HP Vince, Ken@Work and Prisma Deer himself. Stick this on if you fancy a solid couple of hours of funky goodness.

Label Focus

midnight riot

I've chosen to write about Midnight Riot this time because I had the privilege of playing for their party at ADE last week, and spent some time in the company of label boss Yam Who? Midnight Riot has turned into a true success story of an independent label, whose roster reads like a who's who of the funkier side of disco and house. Couldn't believe it when I not only signed a track, but Yam Who? himself did a fine remix of my track a few months back. One of the best labels out there, check 'em out below...

Gem of the Week

This week's obscure but oh-so-good pick is a jangly, funky little number from 1982 by a band I'd literally never heard of before I stumbled across this song, by the name of Waldo. This song's great - funky bass, tasty brass, a great vocal. I like it so much I did an edit of it last year that came out on Hotmood's Discoweey label

Keep the peace, funky friends! 

Tom xx