Funkier Fridays 28th April 2023

logo

Welcome welcome, hope you've had a funky couple of weeks

This week...

  • This My Free Shit

  • Funkier Radio with Jamie Joy of The Soulstice Collective

  • I'm playing at Disco Jukebox tonight!

  • Latest livestreams - House Special and Eclectic Goodness

  • Gem of the Week

This My Free Shit

tms

More free stuff for ya - a ludicrous mash up of Aretha Franklin and Gwen Stefani. Accidentally stumbled across this unlikely combo when messing about with Hollaback Girl, and I think it works rather nicely despite being a bit bananas... or should that be B.A.N.A.N.A.S? As always it's free, so put your pom poms down, get fired up and help yourself to a download.

divider

Funkier Radio with Jamie Joy of The Soulstice Collective

fr106

My latest guest mix was a real treat, with a wonderful guest mix from Jamie Oyebode, co-founder of The Soulstice Collective, who spins under the alias Jamie Joy. The Soulstice Collective is an amazing movement that uses music and the arts as a force for good via a festival, events series and online creative platform. Bloody love what these guys are doing, and I bloody love this mix too - a nice varied selection of global and afro-tinged sounds building to something housier and a bit more jacking, but always with soul and positive feeling.

divider

I'm playing at Disco Jukebox tonight!

disco jukebox

The guest on the previous episode of my show was Niall Martin, who runs the weekly night Disco Jukebox. He's very kindly invited me to play at the next one, which is tonight! I'll be spinning at late night Dalston venue Village 512 alongside Niall and onnCor, and I can't wait! Expect lots of fast paced funky sounds, mixed with a bit of house and a few surprises. Tickets are cheap and you can grab one via this magic linky link...

divider

Latest Livestreams - a House special and some eclectic goodness

ef121

Although I didn't do one last night, my last couple of livestreams were lots of fun. Episode 120 was firmly in house music territory, consisting of mostly deep and dusty 4/4 rollers with a couple of brief tangents out into something a bit more disco because I just can't resist. Then episode 121 last week was an eclectic affair - funk, boogie, disco, nu-disco and global grooves, gradually switching up the gears throughout the journey. Hopefully something for everyone, so have a listen if that tickles your fancy...

divider

Gem of the Week

Nice one this time - a lovely little tune from Don Blackman called Just Can't Stay Away. A tasty grinding boogie bassline works alongside a no nonsense piano part and Don's heartfelt vocal. This almost forgotten gem has found a new lease of life with a reissue and at least one edit over the last couple of years, and has found its way into my collection recently too. Great tune!

Have a lovely weekend, be excellent to each other, and speak soon.

Tom xx