Funkier Fridays 26th May 2023

logo

Welcome welcome, hope you’ve been well

This week...

  • Free Con Funk Shun edit

  • A couple of gigs!

  • Disco Waltons Sunday Service

  • Gem of the Week

Free Con Funk Shun Edit

First things first, here’s a freebie for you. It’s an edit of Con Funk Shun’s Got To Be Enough - a tune I love so much I’ve edited it before. I sort of forgot that I’d already done it, and anyway this version ended up different to my previous attempt, and a bit better I think. Anyway, it’s yours…

divider

A couple of gigs! Good Custard…

I’ve got some lovely gigs coming up over the next couple of weeks. The first one sees me heading up to Manchester to play for the Good Custard guys again, this time for a special B2B with my buddy Ben Banjo Field, who I recently released a track with. My last gig with the GC crew was one of my favourites and I absolutely can’t wait for this one. Tickets are FREE and I’ve popped the link below

divider

…And Disco Abbey

And then on Friday 9th I’m doing something extremely exciting indeed. Playing disco in an actual abbey? Yes please! Still pinching myself that I’m on this line up with disco legends Odyssey, Jazzie B of Soul II Soul, the fabulous Natasha Kitty Katt and a load of other top talent. Sounds like it’s going to be a unique event and I couldn’t be more excited. I’d love to see you there!

divider

Disco Waltons Sunday Service

I was back on hosting duties for Disco Waltons Sunday Service last weekend, hosting our friend DJ Clint H. I, as usual tried to cram as much stuff in to an hour as possible, going on a journey through boogie funk, world beats, house and frenetic disco stompers. Then Clint took over with a classy hour of funky grooves. Listen back if that sounds nice

divider

Gem of the Week

Time to shine a little spotlight on another forgotten obscurity. This slice of disco funk is called Step Into The Light. It was relased by Sunfire in 1982 and is a simple, happy tune with a funky bassline (of course) and a dead catchy chorus. Wonderful stuff!

Thanks for reading and I hope to see you soon

Tom xx