Funkier Fridays 1st September 2023

logo

Wait, is summer over already…?

This week...

  • Celebrate Bandcamp Friday with a hefty discount on my stuff

  • Funkier Radio with The Funk Assassin

  • Evening Funkier gets soulful…

  • Gem of the Week

Celebrate Bandcamp Friday with a hefty discount on my stuff

Bandcamp Friday

Bandcamp Friday, held on the first Friday of every month, is when Bandcamp very kindly waive their revenue share for 24 hours, meaning creators like myself get to keep a larger share (almost everything, bar the payment processor fees). I’ve got loads of my off-label stuff on there, and for today only I’m offering my entire Bandcamp discography to you with a rather splendid 85% discount. That’s right - eighty five percent off!! That’s over 30 tracks for well under the price of a pint. No vouchers, no faff, just a load of tunes for very cheap indeed. Click on buy for any track and scroll down to grab the lot!

divider

Funkier Radio with The Funk Assassin

FR115

I like to mix up the tempos on my radio show, and for this one I started things off pretty banging at about 130BPM, then slowed right down, then picked things back up towards the end. As usual it was a right old mix of new and old, plus a few new bits from me in there too. In the second hour I handed over proceedings to The Funk Assassin, who delivered a lovely funky mix featuring Cerrone, Alan Dixon, Folamour, Purple Disco Machine and more. Tasty vibes!

divider

Evening Funkier gets soulful…

ef131

My latest livestream was a soulful affair, starting out with funky and soulful house flavours, moving into the US garage sort of territory that I’ve fallen so in love with, picking up the pace as we go and ending up on more of a UK garage tip. You can listen back on the link below, and hit up my Twitch to be in with a chance of seeing my terrible dancing live on Thursday nights. The shows get uploaded to this handy playlist on my YouTube too!

divider

Gem of the Week

Something obscure from a reasonably well known artist this time - Zeke The Freak by Isaac Hayes from waaay back in ‘78. This tune’s brimming with seventies disco goodness - no real vocal on this one, but lovely horns, driving bass and of course those Shaft-esque wah wah guitars to give it that trademark Hayes sass.

Take care, be nice, be happy.

Tom xx