Funkier Fridays 18th August 2023

logo

Hey there, funky person. Yes you. You’re awesome! That is all.

This week...

  • I’m Bringing Sexyback back (yeah!)

  • Funkier Radio with Nova Funk

  • The return of my livestream… again

  • Gem of the Week

I’m bringing Sexyback back (yeah!)

Bexysack

Time for another one of my twisted pop jams, and Justin Timberlake is my latest victim. I've turned his Timbaland-produced 2006 smash Sexyback into a filthy acid fuelled basement banger, and called it Bexysack simply because the name amuses me for some reason. I had a load of fun cooking this up, and it's yours to do with it what you will.

divider

Funkier Radio with Nova Funk

FR114

On my latest radio show I welcomed Nova Funk back to the Funkier Radio controls. They guested on my show a few years back under a different name, shortly after I recorded a mix for their series. That mix was one of the first guest mixes I ever did, and it meant a great deal to me back then. This time Dan's treated us to some of his favourite Disco House selections. But not that big, brash, sometimes a bit stupid sort of disco house - these are refined cuts, true to the Nova Funk ethos of offering something a bit classy. But he still builds things up nicely into a mix that bangs in the last 20 minutes or so. Well worth a listen!

divider

The return of my livestream (again)

ef130

After another break for various reasons, my livestream ‘Evening Funkier’ was back on the Twitchy airwaves again last Thursday. I was keeping it very much on the more obscure side of things for the duration of this one. Lots of dusty old funk and soul, some boogie, some disco. No sync and some wobbly mixing - lovely stuff! Catch it below, and head to my Twitch to catch me live - after my holidays I promise to make these a nearly weekly thing again

divider

Gem of the Week

I plucked this obscure dusty funk gem from my collection to write about here mostly because I know someone called Al(ex) Hudson, and it’s his birthday tomorrow. Small Talk by Al Hudson and the Soul Partners is a goodie though - a simple affair with your classic horns and strings, a twiddly guitar, solid bass playing and a beautifully uplifting vocal. The sort of wonderfully soulful stuff that makes me happy.

I’m off on my summer hols and will see you soon. Take care!

Tom xx