Funkier Fridays 17th March 2023

logo

Welcome to another funky email. As you read this I'm most likely on the way to or at Southport Weekender, so I'll keep this one short

This week...

  • In case you missed these freebies...

  • Funkier Radio with Burnout Sumner

  • Borderline replay :)

  • Gem of the Week

In case you missed these freebies...

freebies

I'm unable to bring you a freebie this time, as I've had to change laptop (again - nightmare!)... meaning my precious studio time in the last couple of weeks has been more working through problems than working my magic. But if you've missed any or want to look back over some of the stuff I've given away previously, just hit the link to browse the playlist of all 43 tracks I've given away so far and grab as many as you want. I'm back and creating again so hope to have something new for you next time

divider

Funkier Radio with Burnout Sumner

fr103

So I must confess, I was a bit unsure when I saw the tracklisting for my latest guest mix - Robbie Williams?! But safe to say that my guest Burnout Sumner from Berlin smashed it with an hour of lovely funky sounds from many corners of the spectrum. And it's actually a banging version of the RW track! Then in my hour I crammed in 20 tracks new and old with a little side order of hip hop for good measure. Listen back below, and gimme a follow if you want to see future episodes pop up in your Soundcloud feed

divider

Borderline replay

pete

A couple of weeks back I joined my fellow Disco Waltons Greg and Pete for Borderline, and what a night it was! Pete and I shared the decks for the first three hours, the dancefloor was full early on, then Greg took the roof off for the final two. So much fun - loads of happy singalong favourites, remixes, edits, mashups... absolutely loved it. And best of all? I remembered to hit record on my USB so we've got the whole night recorded! You can listen below to hear what Borderline is all about - and keep an ear out for the theme song 3 hours in Greg's already planning the next one - 10th June!

divider

Gem of the Week

Back to the year of my birth, which I'm only just finding out is one of the very best years for sweet sweet boogie music, 1983. Danger Zone by Midnight Express... This one's got a hell of a bassline - a big gurgly beast of a synth part. We've got some nice 80s horns, moody vocals and some more synthy goings on. But mostly just that bassline!

Look after yourself and I'll catch you soon.

Tom xx