Funkier Fridays 16th September 2022

logo

Hey, I hope you've been good and funky since we last spoke

Welcome to your regular dose of all things Funkier!

Free Stuff!

free yourself

I know you guys love a little freebie so I'll get straight to it - click the button below to grab my version of Jessie Ware's fantastic Free Yourself. A certain Eats Everything has just done a version of this too, but I wanted to put my own spin on it with something banging, but not too full on. Think it turned out alright, and I'm giving it to you for nothing! Let me know what you think :)

Label Focus

spa

It's no coincidence that I've chosen Mallorca-based label Spa In Disco as my label of the week... because I've just released a track with them! This amazing label is run by talented DJ and producer Fran Deeper, and releases a dizzying string of top quality releases from some of the best in the game as well as giving a platform to talented newcomers, and chancers like myself. You can browse their extensive back catalogue (and that of sister label Spa Club) via this link...

I've done a Facebook group!

funkier family

As part of my endless quest to create extra admin for myself I've created a little Facebook group, for like minded people like you and me to gather and chat endlessly about music in all its funky forms. Would love if you could join, and feel very free to invite your funkiest friends too...

Real life gig action!

I'm really excited to be joining my fellow disco Waltons Greg Middleton and Pete Ellison for the next edition of Greg's legendary Borderline night in Surbiton on Saturday 1st October. The event takes place at Niku Bar - I was on the dancefloor the last one and it was brilliant fun, and I can't wait to play a few tunes there in a couple of weeks. Tickets are available now, and if you're quick you can grab an early bird for a tenner via the event page below

Gem of the Week

This week's underrated gem is The Way We Live by Raw Soul Express - a divine nugget of funky smoothness from 1977. Produced by George 'Chocolate' Perry, this one's a simple tune but the horns and vocal are just magical. It's got a killer little bassline too - I absolutely love this tune.

That's all for this week... until next time, stay Funky!

Tom xx