Funkier Fridays 14th October 2022

logo

Hey there, happy Friday. Time to make that Friday a little bit Funkier!

Spooky Free Stuff!

bustin' makes me feel good

With Halloween just a couple of weeks away, I've taken an edit I did last year and beefed it up a bit to make it punch even harder. It's stitched together from three different versions of Ray Parker Jr's classic theme tune, with some added tough kicks and jacking percussion. I think it's much better than my old version. Please do help yourself to this one, and unleash spooky havoc!

I've got new music out :)

tonight we're gonna move

I've released a new track on an Italian label called B Club Milano. It's based around the chorus of a lovely instrumental tune by Deodato, and I've added vocals, percussion and a bit of Funkier magic. Big shout out to label boss Paolo Bardelli who helped me get the idea over the line with his mixing skills. It's exclusively on Traxsource preorder now ahead of its worldwide release in a few weeks...

Livestream 101

evening funkier

After the immense fun of my 100th livestream a couple of weeks back, last week I went back to business as usual, although this one was so much fun I ended up extending it by a bit. Covered a lot of ground including a little African boogie section in the middle, ending up on some beautifully jackin' funk.

Who's going to ADE?

ade gigs

I couldn't be more excited about heading to Amsterdam with a big bunch of my friends next week for ADE. I've somehow blagged myself THREE gigs, playing alongside names like Michael Gray, Block & Crown, Yam Who?, J Paul Getto and of course a load of my Disco Waltons and NDC Radio buddies. If you happen to be there, I'd love to see you!

Label Focus - Tropical Velvet

tropical velvet

Tropical Velvet is a brilliant London-based label run by top bloke Ben Kort. As well as the label they also throw parties in London and put out a great radio show with Hurricane Meesh. I was lucky enough to feature on their Ibiza compilation earlier this year, and they're releasing another compilation called Amsterdam 22 at the end of this month - with ADE so close I just had to give that a shout out! Label boss KORT has also got a brand new track out with Brook Baili called Shake It Up. Check it out!

Gem of the Week

This week's gem will always have a special place in my heart, because it's the song I sampled for Ride Is Right, the lead track of my Tropical Disco EP. The moment I stumbled across it I knew I had to make an edit - to be honest I didn't change much, and just let the sheer joy of the original shine on through. I can't believe a song this great has flown so under the radar, and I'm so glad it came into my life. Just listen to it now, OK?

That's me done, keep at it funky people!

Tom xx