Funkier Fridays 14th April 2023

logo

Hello, how was your Easter? 

This week...

  • The Funky One

  • Funkier Sounds feat. Crackazat

  • Funkier Radio with Niall Martin [Disco Jukebox]

  • Gem of the Week

The Funky One

the funky one

I’m very excited about my latest release, a collab between myself and fellow Disco Walton Ben Banjo Field which is out on one of my favourite labels, Spa In Disco. Ben and I make a great team - on this one he sketched out the idea and then I attempted to shape it into a fully fledged track. The track we ended up with is called The Funky One, and it’s an original, summery mid tempo number with some nice horn toots, jangly guitar, lazy chopped vocals and an acid chaser. It’s been doing well on pre-orders and is out as a Traxsource promo today! 

divider

Funkier Sounds feat. Crackazat

crackazat

My last couple of Thursday night livestreams (which you can catch on https://twitch.tv/evenfunkier) have been nice and different. Episode 119 was an afro boogie into soulful vibes affair that was lots of fun with a surprise raid from Michael Gray, then last night's instalment was all about good quality, rolling house music. The tracks from both weeks are saved in my Spotify playlist, and since I played a couple of tracks from the very talented Crackazat in last night's stream I've stuck his pretty face on the cover! The playlist is updated regularly with all (well, most) of the tracks from all my streams...

divider

Funkier Radio with Niall Martin [Disco Jukebox]

fr105

For my latest radio show I was happy to welcome on a special guest who has been making waves on the London scene over the past year - Niall Martin, creator of the almost-weekly Disco Jukebox night in East London. Niall swooped in with an excellent mix to give us a taster of what Disco Jukebox is all about - big, bold and camp disco favourites and edits, building towards something a bit edgier. Hope you enjoy the mix as much as I did, and if you’re in London do make sure you check the night out

divider

Gem of the Week

I'm shining the spotlight on a beautiful little gem from all the way back in 1977 this time - Color My World Blue by Ann Sexton. Absolutely brimming with soul, the strings and brass kick in straight away to lift this song to the heavens. And Ann's vocals are spellbinding. Check out Vhyce's track Just To Make Me for a much housier but still simply magical interpretation of this one - possibly in my top 10 edits of all time. 

Take good care of yourself and you loved ones, and keep it funky now.

Tom xx