Funkier Fridays 12th August 2022

Hello, I hope you've been keeping Funky! 

I hope you don't mind, but I'm going to start sending these little newsletters more regularly. Maybe weekly, maybe every couple of weeks, let's see how we go. Don't worry though, I'll keep them short, to the point and crammed with funky content. And the last thing I want is to spam you, so if you don't want to hear from me just hit the unsubscribe button at the bottom of this email, and have yourself a lovely day!

Spotify playlist takeover

spotify cover

The Good Custard lads have kindly invited me to take over their Spotify playlist for the week, and I've picked a few funky selections for your enjoyment. I’ve chosen some lovely disco and house tracks I’m really feeling at the moment, along with some naughty fonk and one or two hidden gems too. Hit the button below to listen.

Label Focus

Over the coming months I'll be introducing you to one of my favourite labels, and this week it's all about The Disco Express, run by London DJ, producer and nice guy Tom Lilly AKA Bustin' Loose. Every release on this label is quality, not least their latest offering - a brilliant four tracker from Magnolia called Make Me Dance. Tom kindly slipped me a promo copy and I love every track, especially the title track which is a divine slab of pumping, piano led house. Get yourself over to Traxsource and pre order yourself a copy!

Get Funkier!

One of the tracks from the Make Me Dance EP made it into my latest livestream, which saw me mix up 90 mins of lovely house and disco sounds last Thursday. I try to keep my streams varied, and this one was leaning towards the more peak time end of the spectrum. It's on YouTube if you want to see my moves...?

Gem of the Week

I'm aiming to unearth a little hidden gem each week that you might not be familiar with. This week High Light by Barrabas caught my ear, it's a frenzied funk workout from 1975 with a wicked bubbly bassline, tribal drums, soaring electric guitars... and is that a mermaid on the cover? I've attempted to embed the video above if you want to listen.

Until next time, stay Funky!

Tom xx