Funkier Fridays 2nd September 2022

logo

Hello, I hope you've kept things funky since we last spoke. Let's keep the grooves going as we move towards autumn, fall or whatever you prefer to call it in your part of the world.

Funkier Radio Episode 89

In case you didn't know I do a fortnightly show on NDC Radio, with an hour of me playing an eclectic mix of funky oldies and brand new promos, and a guest mix in the second hour from friends, DJs I admire and new names on the scene. My guests this fortnight were Madrid-based duo Da Groove Brothers, who smashed their mix with a juicy selection of low slung modern funk. Absolutely loved this one, hit the link to listen on Soundcloud, and you can find the previous 88 episodes there too!

Label Focus

This week it's the turn of one of the absolute best labels in the Disco scene, Topical Disco. This label is run by London-based pair Moodena and Sartorial, and in just a few years has built up a solid reputation as a go-to for consistent quality. Earlier this year I was lucky enough to have my name above the iconic flamingo on my own EP, and since then the quality releases have continued. Releases on this label always have a touch of class, so click below to browse their impressive back catalogue

Hot Gorilla 2nd Birthday Compilation

Andy Buchan and Conan The Selector's brilliant label Hot Gorilla has been celebrating its second birthday in style with a 10 track compilation featuring some big names in the scene, some newcomers... and me! It hit the number 1 spot on Junodownload's Disco chart and is now available on Traxsource. Just paste in DANCE20 at the checkout for a tasty 20% off this and anything else on the site.

Gem of the Week

This week's little hidden gem from 1984 is something I've owned for ages, but completely forgot about it until I stumbled across it during my last radio show. It's pure joy - chuggy 80s bass, crisp beats and lots of alto sax. It's very almost cheesy but just toes the right side of that line, and is all the better for it.

That's all for now, be sure to stay funky!

Tom xx